LeetLLM
My PlanLearnGlossaryTracksPracticeBlog
LeetLLM

Your go-to resource for mastering AI & LLM systems.

Product

  • Learn
  • Glossary
  • Tracks
  • Practice
  • Blog
  • RSS

Legal

  • Terms of Service
  • Privacy Policy

© 2026 LeetLLM. All rights reserved.

Blog
CareerCompensation

AI Engineer Salary Guide 2026

Compare AI engineering pay without mixing BLS wages, posted salary, and total compensation. Match role family, level, location, equity terms, and source date first.

March 16, 2026Updated September 2, 202616 min read

You can put $148,100 and $500,000-$850,000 on the same screen and still learn almost nothing about an AI-engineering offer. The first is the US annual mean (average) wage for software developers in the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) May 2025 table. The second is the annual-salary range on one Anthropic reinforcement-learning research posting.[1]Reference 1May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimateshttps://www.bls.gov/news.release/ocwage.t01.htm[2]Reference 2Research Engineer, Machine Learning (Reinforcement Learning)https://job-boards.greenhouse.io/anthropic/jobs/4613568008

Both numbers are real. They aren't two ends of one "AI engineer" salary band.

Pay figures below are US dollars for US roles, before tax. Before comparing them, identify the work, the level, the location, the pay field, and the date attached to each number. If job families still feel blurry, start with the AI engineer role guide.

Start with the measuring stick

Picture a recruiter saying, "The range is $500K." What should you write down: annual salary, base salary, target cash, or total compensation? Base salary is the fixed pay rate for your work. Target cash adds the bonus the employer aims to pay, which may differ from the actual payout. Total compensation (TC) typically adds an equity value to cash; check what each source includes and which year it describes.

Salary sources answer different questions. Mixing them can make an offer look stronger or weaker than the source supports.

SourceWhat it measuresWhat it missesBest use
BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics[1]Reference 1May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimateshttps://www.bls.gov/news.release/ocwage.t01.htmEmployer-surveyed wages for a broad occupation and geographyNo AI engineer category; the wage definition excludes stock, nonproduction bonuses, and benefits[3]Reference 3Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics Frequently Asked Questionshttps://www.bls.gov/oes/oes_ques.htmBroad US occupation and location context
Employer postingOne role's disclosed salary or pay range, location, and sometimes bonus or equity labelsActual offer, internal level, grant size, and negotiable components may be absentCurrent employer-specific anchor
Levels.fyiCrowdsourced yearly base, stock, bonus, and normalized company levels[4]Reference 4Levels.fyi Compensation Data Guidehttps://www.levels.fyi/reports/archive/guides/Levels.fyi%20Compensation%20Data%20Guide.pdfUser selection, changing samples, and inexact cross-company level mappingLevel-specific total-compensation cross-check
Department of Labor Office of Foreign Labor Certification (OFLC) disclosure data[5]Reference 5Office of Foreign Labor Certification Performance Datahttps://www.dol.gov/agencies/eta/foreign-labor/performanceEmployer-submitted wage fields from selected immigration applicationsEquity, bonus, full workforce, and a clean market sampleA dated wage-record cross-check, never a total-compensation estimate

Data boundary: Don't average rows from these sources. First match source definition, job family, level, location, and date. Only then compare values.

Now read the headline as a field, not as a verdict. BLS's published wage can include base rates and some incentive pay, but it excludes stock bonuses, nonproduction bonuses, and employer-paid benefits.[3]Reference 3Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics Frequently Asked Questionshttps://www.bls.gov/oes/oes_ques.htm

A missing component isn't a zero. An employer might mention equity without pricing the grant, or publish salary without explaining bonuses. Levels.fyi combines base, stock, and bonus into a yearly total. Its component fields help you separate them again.[4]Reference 4Levels.fyi Compensation Data Guidehttps://www.levels.fyi/reports/archive/guides/Levels.fyi%20Compensation%20Data%20Guide.pdf

Comparison matrix distinguishes four source definitions. BLS wages include some incentive pay but exclude stock bonuses. OpenAI publishes Compensation plus separately offered equity. Anthropic publishes Annual Salary without a priced equity grant. Levels.fyi totals base, annual stock, and bonus. Not specified does not mean zero.
Compare down each column before comparing headline dollars. "Not specified" describes missing information; "excluded" describes a source definition. Neither tells you that an employee receives zero.

Use occupation data for context

When you need a national baseline, BLS is useful precisely because its table is broad. The May 2025 release has no "AI engineer" row, so use nearby occupations only as context.

These are annual means, not medians, base-salary bands, or total compensation. Software developers also cover a much larger workforce than computer and information research scientists, so the latter's mean isn't a stand-in for "AI research pay." SOC means Standard Occupational Classification, the system used to identify the occupations.[1]Reference 1May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimateshttps://www.bls.gov/news.release/ocwage.t01.htm[3]Reference 3Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics Frequently Asked Questionshttps://www.bls.gov/oes/oes_ques.htm

BLS occupationSOC codeUS employmentUS annual mean wageMedian hourly wageWhy it isn't an AI engineer range
Software developers15-12521,687,890$148,100$65.38Covers software work across industries and specialties
Data scientists15-2051262,440$126,800$57.80Covers data-science work beyond model-backed product engineering
Computer and information research scientists15-122137,200$153,930$67.45Covers a much smaller research occupation, not every research engineer

Read the two wage columns separately. A median is the middle worker's wage, while a mean is the average across workers. The columns also use different units: one covers a year and the other an hour. Neither describes a starting offer or an AI-specific pay band.

BLS also publishes state and metro estimates, which are better context when an offer is tied to one location.[3]Reference 3Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics Frequently Asked Questionshttps://www.bls.gov/oes/oes_ques.htm

OEWS wages are closer to cash-wage context than to total compensation. They include base rates and some incentive pay, but exclude stock, nonproduction bonuses, and employer-paid benefits.[3]Reference 3Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics Frequently Asked Questionshttps://www.bls.gov/oes/oes_ques.htm That boundary is why the next source, an employer posting, needs to be read field by field.

Read a posting field by field

These three employer pages were checked on September 2, 2026. They were selected to show different disclosed fields, not to estimate typical pay. All three are research-oriented roles at two frontier labs, so they say little about the wider applied-AI market. Recheck the pages before using them in an offer conversation.

PostingExact published fieldRole and level evidenceLocation evidence
OpenAI Research Engineer[6]Reference 6Research Engineerhttps://openai.com/careers/research-engineer-san-francisco/Compensation: $250K-$445K + Offers EquityCited page publishes no internal levelSan Francisco
Anthropic Research Engineer, ML (Reinforcement Learning)[2]Reference 2Research Engineer, Machine Learning (Reinforcement Learning)https://job-boards.greenhouse.io/anthropic/jobs/4613568008Annual Salary: $500K-$850KPosting says required experience correlates with internal level; it doesn't publish that levelSan Francisco or New York City; at least 25% office expectation
Anthropic ML/Research Engineer, Safeguards[7]Reference 7ML/Research Engineer, Safeguardshttps://job-boards.greenhouse.io/anthropic/jobs/4949336008Annual Salary: $350K-$500KPosting asks for 4+ years but doesn't publish an internal levelSan Francisco or New York City; at least 25% office expectation

OpenAI explicitly says its range comes with equity. Anthropic's two pages label their figures Annual Salary and don't state an equity grant next to those dollars.

Don't silently rename those Anthropic fields "base salary," and don't add hypothetical equity to their published numbers.

Anthropic's safeguards role asks for 4+ years, but years alone don't reveal staff or senior scope. OpenAI publishes no level on the cited page. None of these ranges support a universal junior, mid-level, senior, or staff AI-engineer band.

Field-name check: If a recruiter says "500 to 850," ask whether that string is annual salary, base salary, or total compensation. The cited Anthropic RL posting uses Annual Salary for those dollars.

When using Levels.fyi, match the level and location, then inspect base, stock per year, bonus, submission date, and sample details. A median across several levels answers a different question from a median for your level. Read the live breakdown instead of carrying a company-wide snapshot into an offer call.[4]Reference 4Levels.fyi Compensation Data Guidehttps://www.levels.fyi/reports/archive/guides/Levels.fyi%20Compensation%20Data%20Guide.pdf

A posting gives you a field and a date. It still doesn't tell you whether you've chosen the right peer group. That is a work question.

Match the work before the title

Two jobs can use "AI engineer" while buying different work. Build your peer set from the deliverable and ownership boundary, not from the title.

Role familyWork to matchStrong comparator
Applied AI engineerRetrieval, tool use, product workflows, evals, and user-facing reliabilityProduct software roles with similar end-to-end scope
Machine learning engineerTraining, ranking, retrieval, feature pipelines, and deployed modelsML roles on comparable product and infrastructure ladders
ML systems engineerGPU efficiency, distributed training, serving, compilers, or runtimesInfrastructure roles with the same performance and scale ownership
Research engineerExperiments, model methods, training loops, and evaluation designLab or research-platform roles with comparable research and systems depth
Agent systems engineerTool loops, sandboxes, coding agents, and long-horizon evaluationApplied or systems roles with the same authority and reliability boundary

Role family narrows the peer set; it doesn't guarantee a premium. Scope still decides the comparison. Owning one retrieval feature isn't the same level as setting evaluation and serving architecture across teams.

If the role specifically owns serving latency or throughput, Inference Mechanics explains the latency and memory constraints behind that work. Technical relevance makes a role a better comparator; it doesn't establish a salary premium by itself.

Match the employment arrangement too. A San Francisco office role and an international contractor quote differ in more than currency. Ask which location sets the band, whether a move changes it, and who pays for benefits, leave, equipment, and required travel. For a concrete budget check, an extra $1,500 a month in housing consumes $18,000 a year after tax. Don't subtract that directly from a pre-tax salary difference and call the remainder disposable income.

With the peer set fixed, you can finally compare packages. The next step is to put every component on one clock.

Put every offer on one clock

Recruiters may quote annual base, target bonus, a four-year grant, annualized equity, or first-year cash. Put each offer on the same four-year window, then write down when each component pays or vests. That keeps a large paper grant from hiding a weak first year or a long wait for liquidity.

Vesting is the schedule on which you earn rights to an equity award. A cliff delays the first vest until a specified date. Liquidity means you can actually sell the shares, which may happen much later than vesting. A restricted stock unit (RSU) is a promise to deliver shares or their value after specified conditions are met; an option is a right to buy shares at a fixed strike price. A refresher is a later equity award with its own vesting schedule, not automatically cash paid that year.

Worked example with explicit assumptions

These two offers are invented to teach the arithmetic. They aren't market benchmarks.

  • Offer A, public company: $175K base, an initial $440K RSU grant vesting equally over four years, and a 15% target bonus. Also model an unpromised $40K refresher granted at the start of each of years 3 and 4, each vesting quarterly over four years with no cliff.
  • Offer B, private company: $190K base, 10% target bonus, and an initial option grant quoted as $380K over four years ($95K annualized), vesting equally each year. No refresher or announced opportunity to sell shares back to the company or another buyer.

Assume four complete years of employment, unchanged base salaries, full target bonus, constant public share price, and no taxes or transaction fees. For now, carry the private options at the employer's stated value without treating that value as sale proceeds. Count only equity vesting within the four-year window, not the face value of every grant awarded during it.

Four-year componentOffer AOffer B
Base4 × $175K = $700K4 × $190K = $760K
Target bonus4 × $26.25K = $105K4 × $19K = $76K
Initial equity at stated value4 × $110K = $440K in public RSUs4 × $95K = $380K in private options
Illustrative refreshers vesting within the window$10K in year 3 + $20K in year 4 = $30K$0
Stated pre-tax total$1.275M$1.216M

The first refresher contributes $10K in year 3 and another $10K in year 4. Only $10K of the second grant vests in year 4. Another $50K vests after this comparison ends. Adding both full $40K grants would overstate Offer A's four-year value by $50K.

Annual offer stacks share a 350 thousand dollar scale. Offer A totals 311,250 dollars in years 1 and 2, 321,250 in year 3, and 331,250 in year 4 as 10,000 and then 20,000 dollars of refreshers vest. Offer B shows 209,000 dollars of target cash plus 95,000 of stated private option value each year. Option value is not spendable cash.
Count refresher vesting, not refresher grants. Offer A's purple slice grows from zero to 10,000 to 20,000 dollars, while Offer B's orange slice remains an unverified private-option valuation. The common scale compares stated value, not liquidity.

Comparison boundary: "Stated pre-tax total" isn't take-home pay or expected wealth. Re-run the table when stock price, bonus payout, vesting, start date, exercise cost, or refresher assumption changes.

The totals make the offers comparable on paper, but they still hide equity risk. Classify each slice before you count it.

Let uncertainty show up in the math

Salary belongs on the payment schedule while employment continues; four years of employment aren't guaranteed by a quoted annual rate. Target bonus needs payout scenarios. Public stock needs price and sale-restriction scenarios. Private options need exercise cost, dilution, tax, and liquidity scenarios. Dilution reduces your ownership percentage when the company issues additional shares. Start by separating the components in these two offers:

Diagram showing Offer component, Cash component?, yes, and Schedule salary and bonus scenarios.
Offer component, Cash component?, yes, and Schedule salary and bonus scenarios.

If all equity becomes worthless but target bonuses pay in full, Offer A leaves $805K and Offer B leaves $836K over four years. If bonuses also pay zero, those figures fall to the salary-only $700K and $760K. This separates a higher cash rate from a higher headline package.

For Offer B, counting options at 0%, 50%, and 100% of stated value produces $836K, $1.026M, and $1.216M. Those are sensitivity checks, not forecasts or estimated probabilities. An option valuation needs an additional calculation. Suppose the quoted $380K represents 20,000 options with a $4 strike and a hypothetical $23 sale price for common shares. Ignoring taxes and fees, proceeds after exercise cost would be 20,000 × ($23 − $4) = $380K. A $13.50 sale price gives $190K; a price at or below $4 gives no positive exercise payoff. If there's no permitted sale, none of those scenarios produces spendable proceeds yet.

The purchase alone costs 20,000 × $4 = $80K. Exercising before a sale can therefore put your own cash at risk, even if a compensation spreadsheet assigns the options a positive value. A headline company valuation or preferred-investor share price isn't necessarily the amount common shareholders receive. Ask how the employer calculated its quoted option value before comparing it with RSUs.

Public equity is uncertain too. With no refreshers, Offer A's total falls from $1.275M to $1.245M. If all its assumed RSU vest values, including refreshers, are 50% lower, it totals $1.040M: $805K target cash plus $235K equity. Use comparable downside assumptions for both offers, not a stock-price guarantee for one and a worst case for the other.

Using the zero-equity case, predict Offer B's four-year cash total if bonuses also pay zero. Then check your reasoning:

Why only salary remains

Four years of 190,000 dollars in annual salary produce 760,000 dollars, assuming employment continues. The difference from 836,000 dollars is the 76,000-dollar target bonus you removed. Exercising the illustrative options would reduce cash by another 80,000 dollars before any taxes; a paper valuation doesn't fund that purchase.

Before treating a private grant as cash, ask for its type, number of shares or options, strike price, fully diluted share count or ownership percentage, vesting and cliff, post-employment exercise window, tender policy, and transfer restrictions. A company valuation headline can't answer those questions.

US tax treatment also varies by instrument and event. The IRS says incentive stock options may trigger alternative minimum tax at exercise, while most nonstatutory options without a readily determinable fair market value create income at exercise equal to share value minus price paid.[8]Reference 8Topic 427, Stock Optionshttps://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc427 State and non-US rules differ. Get personalized tax advice before exercising a material grant.

Once you can explain the package without treating every component as cash, prepare evidence for the level and scope you're discussing.

Turn ownership into evidence

Compensation data sets the peer group. Evidence supports scope. A tool list can't do either job.

Start with five facts: bottleneck, constraint, decision, measured result, and business effect.

Here's an illustrative version. An internal FAQ assistant took 4.2 seconds at p95 because each request sent a full document dump to the highest-cost model. Routing, caching, and shorter context reduced p95 to 1.1 seconds and token cost per conversation by 62%.

Here, p95 is the latency at or below which 95% of requests finish. The comparison needs the same task mix, load, and measurement boundary, plus an answer-quality check. Otherwise faster, cheaper answers might simply be less useful. A before-and-after result for three changes also doesn't prove which change caused how much of the improvement.

Illustrative before-and-after bars for an internal FAQ assistant. p95 latency falls from 4.2 seconds to 1.1 seconds, and a token-cost index falls from 100 to 38, after routing, caching, and shorter context replace a full document dump to the highest-cost model.
Bar length is the claim. The story is a measured delta, not a list of tools. Replace these illustrative numbers with a baseline, an intervention, and a result you can point to in a trace or cost ledger.

Don't borrow those figures. Bring an eval report, trace, benchmark, cost ledger, incident reduction, or adoption result you can inspect. Separate work you owned from the team outcome. If you need to produce this kind of evidence, Model Gateways, Routing, and Fallbacks covers the router, and LLM Cost Engineering shows how to keep the token ledger honest. The portfolio project guide shows how to package that evidence; use the technical presentation lesson to rehearse trade-offs without inflating credit.

Build one offer-call worksheet

Before the call, put these items on one page:

  • exact role family, expected scope, likely level, and location policy
  • three closest employer postings with field name and date captured
  • one broad occupation or metro benchmark for context
  • four-year schedule for base, sign-on, target bonus, equity, and refreshers
  • downside, stated-value, and upside equity scenarios
  • vesting, cliff, exercise, clawback, and liquidity terms
  • two measured ownership stories tied to the role's current bottlenecks
  • questions whose answers would change your decision

Ask the recruiter to name the compensation field alongside the number: "Is that annual salary, base salary, target cash, or total compensation?" That question prevents most category errors.

Ask whether the equity quote is grant-date value, current annualized value, or a number of shares. Ask which components are guaranteed, targeted, discretionary, or subject to approval.

Salary-negotiation laws and tax rules vary by jurisdiction. Don't turn a general script into legal advice. Keep the arithmetic pre-tax, record the assumptions, and bring local counsel or a tax professional into any material equity or relocation decision.

The BLS figures use the May 2025 OEWS release. The OpenAI and Anthropic postings were checked on September 2, 2026. Recheck every volatile source before a real offer call. Gaps between the target role and your evidence can shape the next project through the AI engineer learning route.

PreviousAI Coding Assistants in 2026NextOpen-Weight vs Closed API LLMs
Share this article
XFacebookLinkedInBlueskyRedditHacker NewsEmail
References

May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics · 2025

https://www.bls.gov/news.release/ocwage.t01.htm

Research Engineer, Machine Learning (Reinforcement Learning)

Anthropic Careers · 2026

https://job-boards.greenhouse.io/anthropic/jobs/4613568008

Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics Frequently Asked Questions

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics · 2026

https://www.bls.gov/oes/oes_ques.htm

Levels.fyi Compensation Data Guide

Levels.fyi · 2026

https://www.levels.fyi/reports/archive/guides/Levels.fyi%20Compensation%20Data%20Guide.pdf

Office of Foreign Labor Certification Performance Data

U.S. Department of Labor · 2026

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/eta/foreign-labor/performance

Research Engineer

OpenAI Careers · 2026

https://openai.com/careers/research-engineer-san-francisco/

ML/Research Engineer, Safeguards

Anthropic Careers · 2026

https://job-boards.greenhouse.io/anthropic/jobs/4949336008

Topic 427, Stock Options

Internal Revenue Service · 2026

https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc427